Patchwork Pincushion

I love the fabrics at Gone to Earth and really enjoy reading Julia’s blog.  A few weeks ago she collated a lot of pin-cushion tutorials and designs. Check them out here.

I am quite guilty of getting lovely fabrics and not using them until I have found just the right project.  This is a one-way ticket to hoarding and I have only been sewing a year.  Imagine the stash two or three years down the line.  The eight patch pin-cushion is a cute way of using and displaying a lovely bit of fabric in a useful way.

The design wasn’t quite right for me so I gave my cushions a plain back and left out the ribbon embellishment.  The cushions were my first attempt at patchwork squares and the instructions were really easy to follow.  I am not sure I am ready for my first quilt, but I may be inspired to try a small bag soon.  I think they turned out rather well.

Patchwork Pincushion

I can now access my pins and see some pretty fabric.  What’s not to like?

I am also quite taken with these turtle cushions – but I am not sure I could stick pins into anything with eyes!

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

